Southwest Maps and Information

Southwest is one of seven patrol divisions within the City of Dallas. Southwest is divided into five geographic areas. These areas are refered to as sectors. The sector name designations are 410, 420, 430, 440 and 450. To view the map with the locations of each Sector click here .


Each sector is overseen by a lieutenant who is the geographic commander. Additionally, each sector has a sergeant for each watch covering all 24 hours of the day. First Watch or "late nights" covers the hours between 12:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m. Second Watch or "primary days" covers the hours between 7:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. Third Watch or "evenings" covers the hours between 2:00 p.m. and 10:00 p.m. Fourth Watch covers 8:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m.


Each  sector  is  then  divided  into  smaller areas  called  beats which are patrolled by beat officers. Each beat contains  neighborhoods which are  refered to as reporting areas. For Information  on the beat officers  in  your area,  contact your sector  supervisor.  To  see what beats are in your sector, click on the links below.

Reporting areas are "neighborhoods" within each beat. Reporting areas are used when officers need look at crime statistics in a particular area or to locate crime watches, neighborhood associations or home owners associations. Reporting areas are also  used by citizens to investigate what crimes are happening where they live. To find out what your reporting area is, contact your NPO (Neighborhood Police Officer).​



Dallas Police Department
Southwest Division
4230 W. Illinois Ave.
Dallas, TX 75211
Tel 214-670-7470
South Group Commander
Deputy Chief Mark Villarreal


Southwest Division Commander

Major Nathan Swyers

Community Engagement Unit